Australia: Melbourne, the city that makes me falling in love

I cannot deny that I’m falling in love with Melbourne…The atmosphere, the buildings, the trams, and of course the traditional market, all of them makes me wanna stay longer.

Melbourne is the second most populous city in Australia and oftenly referred as cultural capital of Australia and Australia’s garden city. In this moment, the city is hosting Australian Open, the grand slam of Asia/Pacific.

I went to Melbourne for 3 days, from 28 to 31 December 2011, during my Australia trip. From Gold Coast, I flew with Jetstar, a famous Australia and New Zealand budget airlines. One initial thing that you should notice is Melbourne has 2 international airports: Tullamarine (20 minutes driving from the city) and Avalon (50 minutes driving from the city), so you should be aware which airport do you take. In the flight from Gold Coast, my plane landed in Tullamarine. The best transportation to go and from the city from Tullamarine airport is by SkyBus. If you buy return ticket, it will be $6 cheaper (for an adult). If you travel with your family, buy a family pass for more cheaper price.

I found that the weather in Melbourne is similar with Christchurch, the city where I live now in New Zealand. The best style is wearing layering clothes. I wore T-shirt (because that was a summer time) and light jacket. I also brought a thermal layer in my bag. So when it became too windy, wear your thermal as your first layer. You don’t want your time to explore the city is being disturbed by the weather, right? 😀

I stayed at YHA Melbourne Central Hostel, which is very handy. It’s less than 1 km from Southern Cross Station (the biggest train station in Melbourne) and Sky Bus station, and the tram stop is just across the road. This was an old hotel which is re-decorated with modern facilitation. I enjoyed staying in here although it was quite noisy.

For sightseeing, Melbourne is very attractive. Buy a daily pass ($ 7 for an adult) and you can explore the city for all day. You can use the ticket to ride all of local transportation, including the trams.

The most popular hub in Melbourne is Federation Square, where you also can find Melbourne Visitor Center in the downstair. My suggestion is come here first to get ideas travelling around the city.

Flinders Station and St Paul’s Cathedral are also located near the Fed Square. Try to go here both in the day and night. You can feel the different atmosphere.

My other favourite place is Queen Victoria Market, a traditional market since 130 years ago. You can get almost everything in here. This market is similar with Sydney’s Paddy’s Market. For easier access, the market has been divided into several precincts; the Deli Hall, Elizabeth Street Shops, F shed laneway, Vic Market Place Food Court, Fruit and Vegetables, The Meat Hall, Organics, General Merchandise, Victoria Street Shops and the Wine Market.

Three days were gone so fast. I even didn’t have chance to explore outside Melbourne CBD 😦 but I feel so blessful that I made a journey in this city. A city that makes me falling in love 🙂

