Unwanted Gift in Christmas

Have you ever received unwanted gifts? This Christmas, I received it.

2 days before Christmas, a series of earthquakes with magnitude between 5-6 happened in my city, Christchurch. 5.8 at 1:58 pm, 5.3 at 2:06 pm, 6.0 at 3:18 pm, 5.0 at 4:50 pm and many aftershocks. http://www.stuff.co.nz/national/6184519/Swarm-of-quakes-hits-Christchurch

I was in my flat when the earthquake happened. Shocked and shaking, I ran out immediately to the road. Honestly, I thought that after September 2010, February 2011, and June 2011’s earthquakes, there will be no more ‘serious’ earthquakes, in spite of geologist’s theory.

Maybe I should consider writing a letter to Santa Claus. Asking no more shakes, at least in this Christmas. This lovely city deserves a better atmosphere. We need a great Christmas gift, not the unwanted ones.

Kia Kaha* Cantabrian!

Note : Kia Kaha is a Maori phrase which means ‘be strong’. Maori is native people of New Zealand.

